Honolulu School District

Oahu is comprised of four school districts — Honolulu, Windward, Central, and Leeward. HSDB is under the Honolulu School District.

Each of the four school districts has 2-3 Complex Areas. Each Complex Area has a high school plus regional elementary and middle schools that feed into it. Each Complex Area (nine of them) has a Complex Area Superintendent (CAS).

The Honolulu School District has two Complex Areas – Farrington/Kalani/Kaiser (FKK) and Kaimuki/McKinley/Roosevelt (KMR). HSDB is in the  Farrington/Kalani/Kaiser (FKK) Complex Area.  The CAS for FKK is Dr. Rochelle Mahoe. HSDB works closely with Kalani High School, where HSDB High School students join Kalani’s sports teams (football, basketball, volleyball, etc) and classes (with ASL interpreters).

The Honolulu School District provides support to HSDB’s principal and business office, including Title 1 funding and monitoring, curriculum support, and more. They also monitor and assist with our school improvement plans and getting much needed funds for different programs.